De Aar

Province of Cape Town

PATRONESS: Our Lady of Assumption

De Aar

Right Reverend Bishop Adam Musialek, SCJ

Address: 1 Van Riebeeck Street; PO Box 73, De Aar 7000.

Tel: (053) 631 1149, Fax: (053) 631 1043,



Vicar General:  Rev Fr Colin Bowes, PO Box 224, Noupoort 5950. Tel: (049) 843 1608.

Chancellor: Rev Fr John Strittmatter SCJ, PO Box 168, Middelburg 5900. Tel: (049) 842 1587 Fax: (049) 842 4292.

For further information, please go to the Diocese of De Aar.


On 24 March 1953, this Territory (formerly included in the Aliwal Diocese) was made a Prefecture and entrusted to the American Province of the Priests of the Sacred Heart. The Rt Rev Mgr AJ Dettmer SCJ was appointed the first Prefect Apostolic.  By decree of the Holy See, dated 13 April 1967, the Prefecture was elevated to the status of a Diocese.

The boundaries of the Territory are: Aliwal Diocese to the East, Kimberley Diocese to the North, Keimoes Diocese to the Northwest, Oudtshoorn to the Southwest, and Port Elizabeth to the South.  The diocese comprises Britstown, Colesberg, De Aar, Graaff-Reinet, Hanover, Hopetown, Middelburg, Murraysburg, Noupoort, Philipstown, Richmond and Strydenburg districts.

Former Bishops: Rt Rev. Joseph De Palma SCJ was consecrated first Bishop of De Aar on 19 July 1967. Died February 2, 2005. Rt Rev. Frederick Lobinger was Apostolic Administrator from 13 March 1988 to 30 April 1992. Rt Rev. Joseph Potocnak SCJ, appointed Bishop of De Aar on February 12, 1992, ordained Bishop May 1, 1992 and retired 23 September 2009. Rt Rev Adam Musialek SCJ appointed Bishop of De Aar on 17 July 2009 and ordained Bishop on 24 September 2009.

Area: 67 248 sq km.

Tot Pop: 164 000

Cath. Pop: 5 786