(Province of Durban)

Our Lady
St Francis of Assisi

Right Reverend
Appointed 13 June 2008 and ordained Bishop 30th August 2008 at Newcastle
5 Hill Street, Postnet Suite 95
Private Bag X6603, Newcastle, 2940
Tel: (034) 312 6591
E-mail: tgrahamrose@gmail.com
Website: www.catholic-dundee.org.za



The former Prefecture Apostolic of Volksrust was erected by the Bull “In Similitudinem” of Pius XII dated 23 June 1958, and entrusted to the English Province of the Order of Friars Minor. The boundaries of the territory are: Lydenburg Diocese to the North, Johannesburg to the North-West, Bethlehem Diocese to the West, Manzini Diocese to the East and Durban Archdiocese to the South.The Prefecture comprised the following District: Ermelo, Standerton, Bethal, Piet Retief, Amersfoort, Volksrust, Wakkerstroom in Mpumalangaand Newcastle, Utrecht, Dundee, Klip River and Msinga districts (as bounded by the Tugela River) in KwaZulu/Natal.

The Prefecture was created a Diocese under the title, Diocese of Dundee, by the Bull of Pope John Paul II “Quandoquidem Ecclesia” dated 19 November 1982. Michael Paschal Rowland OFM was ordained the first bishop of the diocese on the 17 September 1983.

Area: 51 867 sq.km.     Total Pop: 1 500 000       Cath. Pop: 75 000


Predecessor: Rt Rev Mgr C Ulyatt OFM was appointed Prefect Apostolic in 1958 and in 1968 resigned. He died at Buckingham, England, 12 October 1974. Rt. Rev Mgr. Marius Banks OFM was appointed Prefect Apostolic in 1968, retired 1983 died 30January 2001, Nazareth House, Durban.



Diocesan Curia Office
5 Hill Street, Postnet Suite 95, Private Bag X6603, Newcastle, 2940
Tel: (034) 212 2127, Fax: (034) 212 3950
E-mail: dundeediocese@gmail.com

Vicar General
Fr Thokozani Kunene
PO Box 83
Dundee, 3000
Tel: (034) 212 2127
E-mail: petercullen@trustnet.co.za 

For further information, please go to the Diocese of Dundee.