(Province of Durban)

The Good Shepherd
Our Lady of Sorrows

The Prefecture was erected by the Bull “Quoniam Praecipuas” dated 12 November 1962 and entrusted to the United States of America Eastern Province of the Order of Servants of Mary.  The Prefecture was raised to the status Vicariate Apostolic  by the Bull “Alacri Profecto” dated  19 November 1990.  The boundries of the territory are: Mozambique and Swaziland to the North; the Indian Ocean on the East; the Diocese of Eshowe to the West and South.  The Vicariate is comprised of three magisterial districts: Ingwavuma, Ubombo and Hlabisa.

Area: 12 386
Total Pop:   538 267
Cath. Pop: 23 350


Apostolic Administrator 
Bishop José Luis Gerardo Ponce de León IMCA


Appointed Bishop 24th November 2008, ordained 18th April 2009.

Address: PO Box 23, Mtubatuba 3935. Tel: 035 550 1051,

Tel & Fax: 035 550 1062 (Mtubatuba office)

Tel & Fax: 035 838 1136 (Hlabisa office) Fax: (086) 608 8899



FORMER ORDINARIES: Rt Rev Mgr Edwin M Kinch, OSM was appointed Prefect Apostolic 13 November 1962, resigned May 1970.

Rt Rev Mgr A Dennehy was appointed Apostolic Administrator by Pope Paul in May 1970 and resigned 1975.

Rt Rev Bishop Michael M O’Shea, OSM was Appointed Prefect Apostolic 9 January 1976 and Bishop 19 November 1990. Bishop O’Shea was ordained 6 April 1991, died 30th May 2006.


Vicar General: Very Rev Fr Declan M Doherty, OSM, PO Box 23, Mtubatuba 3935. Tel: 035 550 1051,
Tel & Fax: 035 550 1062. E-mail:


For further details, please go to Vicariate of Ingwavuma